Huskies demolish Dinos for first Hardy Cup since 2006

The University of Saskatchewan Huskies continued to overcome the odds, beating the University of Calgary Dinos 43-18 Saturday in the Hardy Cup final, officially crowning them Canada West champions.

It’s Saskatchewan’s first Hardy Cup title since 2006.

The Huskies were ranked last in the pre-season coaches poll, but would defy the odds at every turn this season.

Saskatchewan entered the Hardy Cup playoffs as underdogs against the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds last week before pulling off one of the biggest Canada West upsets in recent memory by knocking off the undefeated Dinos.

Saskatchewan was led by fifth-year running back Tyler Chow. The Calgary native ran for 222 rushing yards and two touchdowns on 24 attempts, while adding another 19 yards on two catches.

The Huskies were able to shut down one of the country’s top players, limiting Dinos quarterback Adam Sinagra to 286 yards passing, one touchdown and four interceptions thrown.

The game began with a Sinagra interception as he was picked off by Huskies Nelson Lokombo on his very first pass attempt. Sinagra seemed shaky from there on out, missing throws as Saskatchewan’s defence began to smother the Dinos pivot.

Sinagra rescued the first half back, finding slotback Hunter Karl in the endzone with eight seconds left in the first half to knock the Huskies lead down to three points with the score at 18-15.

Saskatchewan quarterback Kyle Siemens threw to Carter Dahl for a 10-yard touchdown with 3:35 remaining in the third quarter for a 25-17 lead heading into the fourth quarter.

Chow put the game out of reach with his second touchdown of the game early in the fourth quarter for a 32-18 lead.

Sinagra had one final drive to get his team back in the game, but was intercepted by Huskies Peyton Hall for his fourth interception of the game after throwing five interceptions throughout the season.

It is the 19th Hardy Cup title for the Huskies. They will travel to Ontario next week to face the top-ranked University of Western Mustangs in the Mitchell Bowl. The winner will advance to the Vanier Cup.